2008 Reading List

I try to read a lot.  It allows me to continually push myself to learn more, and “leaders are readers” (at least we’re supposed to be).  It’s one way I try to go further faster – so I get the opportunity to learn from others mistakes as well as my own.  My 2008 list comes in at 20 books, which is a  few books shy of the 27 I read in 2007.  Here’s the list in no particular order:

  • Three Signs of a Miserable Job – Patrick Lencioni
  • Lincoln on Leadership – Donald Phillips
  • The Four Hour Work Week – Timothy Ferris
  • Getting Things Done – David Allen
  • The 360 Degree Leader – John Maxwell
  • Next Generation Leader: 5 Essentials for Those Who Will Shape The Future – Andy Stanley
  • The Dip – Seth Godin
  • Making Vision Stick – Andy Stanley
  • Eat More Chikin – Truett Cathy
  • The Faith of Barack Obama – Stephen Mansfield
  • The Fred Factor – Mark Sanborn
  • Choosing to Cheat – Andy Stanley
  • 7 Practices of Effective Ministry – Stanley, Joiner, & Jones
  • Through Painted Deserts – Donald Miller
  • To Own a Dragon – Donald Miller
  • Epic – John Eldredge
  • Wild Goose Chase – Mark Batterson
  • Jesus Wants to Save Christians – Rob Bell
  • Fields of Gold – Andy Stanley
  • The Purpose Driven Life – Rick Warren

 Check back in a few days for the beginnings of my 2009 list. 

Are there any books you read this year or are planning to read in 2009 that you think should be on my list?  If so, leave a comment.

3 Responses to “2008 Reading List”


  1. 1 Mark Sanborn January 1, 2009 at 2:27 pm

    Hope you enjoyed my book The Fred Factor! If you did, my two books since are You Don’t Need a Title to be a Leader and The Encore Effect: How to Achieve Remarkable Performance in Anything You Do. I blog regularly at http://www.marksanborn.com/blog

    Happy New Year!


  1. 1 2009 Reading List « Ever Heard of It? Trackback on January 3, 2009 at 1:43 pm
  2. 2 Fred on People/Customer Service « Ever Heard of It? Trackback on January 14, 2009 at 8:13 am

Leave a Reply

