Be a Servant

Even though there are signs that certain segments of society are becoming less self-absorbed, for the most part we’re still a “me-centered” culture.  I’m all for whatever makes me happy, makes me look good, serves my interests, and covers my tail.  So I had the crazy idea around a week ago about the transformational power of servant leadership in our culture, because it looks so different than the “norm”.  After I had this idea, I read something interesting in Scripture. 

1 Kings 12:7-8  – The king, Rehoboam, is presented with the opportunity to lighten the load of the people, because his father, Solomon, had put a “heavy yoke” on them.  In the end, he doesn’t accept their request, and things go poorly for him because of it.  However, listen to the advice that he passes over from some of the elders he consulted on the matter: 

They said, “If you will be a servant to this people, be considerate of their needs and respond with compassion, work things out with them, they’ll end up doing anything for you.”

This also reminds me of Truett Cathy’s philosophy, “‘If you treat other people the way you want to be treated, they’ll get what they want, and you’ll get what you want.

Next time you get the opportunity, serve those you have the privilege of leading.

0 Responses to “Be a Servant”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

