Investing

I’ve been thinking a lot about money lately.  I’m not really sure why.  The guys at work all say it’s because Jen and I are both working and we have a double income with no kids.  I’m pretty sure it’s because I want to be a good steward of it.  I want to make wise choices now, that will pay off down the road.  I want us to have what we need, but one day hope to give a lot of it away.  Here’s another perspective on investing wisely that happened to me a a few weeks ago…

We went to a party last night thrown by one of the doctors my wife works with.  He wanted to say thanks to all the residents for helping him out for the past year.  He’s also a Christian and goes to NewSpring.  So, what does he do?  Bring orange drink and cookies to work?  Say thanks by dropping off a tract in everyone’s mailbox?  Throw a nice party, but make everyone watch the Jesus video?   

Nope – He throws a party at his neighborhood clubhouse for all the pediatric residents and his peers who wanted to come, complete with BBQ.  Not just any BBQ either, he went First Class and had it catered by Sticky Fingers.  There was also homemade peach cobbler & ice cream for dessert.  Wow.

As we were leaving I was talking with my wife.  She says that this doctor has helped the residents out so much that they should be throwing him a party.  He’s using his influence to serve & give, and it shows in the number of people who showed up and all the positive things I’ve heard about him.

Makes me wonder how I’m using my resources and influence.  If I’m entrusted with even more one day will I use it to get the most mileage and favors from those around me, or will I serve, give, and invest in others?

What are you doing now with the resources you’ve been entrusted with?

0 Responses to “Investing”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

